Easy Dollar Store Valentine Earrings

On Saturday, my family and I went to Dollar Tree because I wanted to get some Valentine’s Day decorations. I’ve never really decorated for Valentine’s Day before, but I thought it would be fun for Penny, and Dollar Tree has some really cute stuff (I also stocked up on St. Patrick’s Day decorations). I got a felt heart garland, some glittery heart “table scatter,” and some floral picks of red and white roses with more glittery hearts. While I was hanging the garland, I thought to myself, “These hearts would be great for jewelry!”

DIY Easy Dollar Store Valentine Earrings

I took my extra garland and the table scatter and started playing around.

DSCF8671

Fortunately, the hearts on the garland were attached with split rings, so it was really easy to remove a couple of them. Then I started playing around with layering the felt hearts with the glitter hearts. While I was doing that, I noticed that the glitter flaked off pretty easily. So once I found a design I liked, I decided to scrape off as much glitter as I could from one side of the hearts so the glue would adhere better.

I used a plastic knife to carefully scrape off some glitter.

I used a plastic knife to carefully scrape off some glitter.

Then I got out my hot glue gun and started gluing!

DSCF8677

After I glued all my hearts together, I simply added some jump rings and ear wires. The felt hearts already had holes in them from the split rings. I was going to use the split rings instead of jump rings, but I decided they were too big and looked kinda goofy on the earrings.

DSCF8680 DSCF8688

You can see how big they are in the last picture; a little too big for what I usually wear, but they’re fun. :) I’m debating whether I should make another pair to put in my shop. What do you think?

DSCF8690

 

 

***This post was linked to Dollar Tree Valentine Decor Party at DebbieDoo’s and Weekend Wonders at The Thriftiness Miss.

12 thoughts on “Easy Dollar Store Valentine Earrings

  1. These earrings are really adorable and my daughter would love this…she is a heart freak! Saw them over at Debbie’s and Shannon’s party and wanted to stop over and say hello! Have pinned these!

  2. Pingback: Dollar Store Valentine Floral Decoration « Jewels For All

What do you think?

