Thrift Store Finds and Getting Ready for Christmas

I’m getting so excited to do some Christmas crafts! I’m trying to hold out until after Thanksgiving, but I am having a hard time. My husband already made a reindeer out of some wine bottle corks and added it to the Fall Wall (apparently he forgot the Fall part of it). It is super cute though, so I just might let it stay…sort of a symbol of Thanksgiving leading into the Christmas season…or something.

Even though I’m not allowing myself to make any Christmas crafts, that doesn’t mean I can’t start getting ready for them! On Friday, my husband took the afternoon off and we all went to the thrift store down the street from us. I really like this particular thrift store; I almost always find something that I like, and a lot of their items are actually vintage, not just “pre-owned.”

I was looking through their fabric and linens area, and I came across a green roll of fabric. I thought it was felt, but when I took a closer look I realized it was some kind of woven fabric. I’m still really not sure what kind of material it is, but it is the perfect color green for Christmas decorations. And the whole roll was only $3! I also found a bundle of ribbon and bias tape for $2, and a small-ish embroidery hoop for 50 cents!

I’ll tell you right now, my sewing skills are minimal, and I don’t own a sewing machine, but I’m hoping I can come up with some great no-sew crafts with these items.

Penny even got in on the thrifting action. She was checking out all of the Christmas items, and she found this cute melamine bowl with a snowman in the bottom for 50 cents! My husband even gave her the dollar to pay for it and she was so proud of herself walking up to the counter with her purchase like a big girl.

After the thrift store, we went to the craft store that is only a couple blocks away. Of course they had all of their Christmas stuff out too, and we couldn’t resist picking up a package of clear glass ornaments (we try to make at least one new ornament every year). I also picked up a couple of Christmas-patterned fat quarters. I’m thinking about making the Christmas version of the mason jar fall decoration I made for my mom.

I can’t wait to show you what I’ve made with all of my crafting finds!

 

One thought on “Thrift Store Finds and Getting Ready for Christmas

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Garland and Other Decorations « Jewels For All

What do you think?

